Never Fast Again

Gulp down some living water…

Jesus said in John 4:32 “I have food to eat of which you do not know.” John 4:34 “My food is to do the will of my Father and to finish His work.” Normally I’m interested in the verses that follow, but God has stopped me here. For two months now, God has been speaking to me about food, using the book of John, chapters 4 and 6. These chapters talk about food.

In John 6:35 Jesus makes a bold statement. “I am the bread of life. He who comes to Me shall never hunger, and he who believes in Me shall never thirst.”

Further in John 6, Jesus makes such a bold statement that some of His followers turned away. Examine John 6: 53-56, “unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink His blood, you have no life in you. Whoever eats My flesh and drinks My blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day. For My flesh is food indeed, and My blood is drink indeed. He who eats My flesh and drinks My blood abides in Me, and I in him”

Of course we know this is not literal, in the natural we do not eat His flesh and drink His blood, but what about in the Spirit? In these passages of scripture food represents life and all that it encompasses. As I’ve searched God out on this subject I began to get the picture.

  • Jesus’ food is doing God’s will.
  • Jesus is food.
  • Jesus is God’s will.

Okay, God knows how significant food is to us humans, and He is choosing to compare Himself with food. Whole industries exist because of food. Restaurants, grocery stores, convenience stores, bakeries, farmers markets, weight management businesses, fast food, pizza places, fair food, organic food, farming, cattle raising, fishing industries, dairies, antacid makers, the list is almost endless. Just about everything revolves around food. Food is important.

When do we not think of food? Food is vital to our survival. Food gives us energy-it’s our body’s fuel. Food satisfies and fulfills us. Food caters to our emotions and makes us feel better.

Jesus’ food was to do the will of His Father and to finish His work. Ask yourself, do I mirror Jesus in this way-is doing God’s will my food? Am I as satisfied and fulfilled doing God’s will as I am after I eat a big helping of my favorite food? Do I look forward to doing God’s will as much as I do to eating? Do I spend my hard earned income doing God’s will more than I do on food? Do I think about fulfilling God’s will more than I do eating?

Jesus said He is the Bread of Life. Ask yourself, do I crave relationship with Jesus as much as I do food? Do I think about Jesus more than I do food? Is Jesus vital to my survival?

God’s not saying get all fanatical about food but what He is saying is this… is the Bread of Life enough for you and all your needs?

John 6:60 ‘“Therefore many of His disciples, when they heard this, said, “This is a hard saying; who can understand it?” “When Jesus knew in Himself that His disciples complained about this, He said to them, “Does this offend you?”’

I ask you, does it offend you that Jesus wants to be more to you than everything you think vital, fulfilling and satisfying for your life? If so, offense is a choice. Instead, choose to be extraordinary and find your fulfillment in the Bread of Life. The good news is you’ll never have to fast this food!

“Do not labor for the food which perishes, but for the food which endures to everlasting life, which the Son of Man will give you, because God the Father has set His seal on Him.” John 6:27

2 thoughts on “Never Fast Again

Leave a Reply

