Weightless

Drink up…

When the manifest presence of God sweeps in, everything normal is swept out. Picture it this way it’s an ordinary day; your walking down the street just going about your business when suddenly a huge tidal wave floods in, knocking you off your feet.  Everything on this familiar street is under water-as are you. Even though your shoulders carry many weights, the rapid current causes all to be tussled about and carried down what used to be a road but now resembles a rushing river. This purging water envelopes you inside and out.

When the presence of God consumed my existence it  looked just as the description above. My whole life was turned upside down, it was painful yes, but not as painful and empty as living a half-baked life. The only recovery in sight was Jesus. Well, I could of chosen anger or any of it’s counter parts but I knew God was at work answering my prayers for more of Him.

For a good amount of my Christian life God was pretty much a room addition. I knew I wanted Him to be more but I didn’t want to loose control of my life. Making God more than a room addition meant making Him the House and me the addition. This concept tweaks with our-I’ll have it my way culture-even in the church.

Finally my life and heart were desperate. I looked for more in a few different avenues that I called God, but knew my more had to come from the only One who could actually give me more. It had to come from supernatural means, hence my supernatural God!

God in His mercy showed up not in a quiet, soft, gentle presence but in a strong, confident tidal wave, that shook my life to the core and left no prisoners!

Words such as sovereignty, submission, humility, relinquish, surrender and resignation became staples in my new vocabulary. Yes it was difficult, but God never asks us to do anything that He won’t equip us for. My part was to surrender my will, recognize my weakness, embrace the situation and allow God to heal and restore me.

I like to explain the process as follows:
heres me/you………………………………………………………………………………. heres God.
 All the dots in-between are different situations and/or things we fill our life and heart with that essentially keep us from intimate relationship with God. The goal is to draw near to God, to do so we must get rid of the “dots” in-between. This is where the presence of God makes an entrance, here within lay all His attributes. To do away with the “dots” we need His love, mercy, power and grace. Basically we need His presence. The presence of God will purge and cleanse the “dots” drawing us closer to Him.
me/you…………………….. God.

Whether His presence arrives in tidal wave form or a gentle nudge, submitting is the key. James 4:7-8  reads, “Therefore submit to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you. Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners; and purify your hearts, you double-minded.” When we submit to God we have the strength to resist the devil, when we resist him he has to flee. Now the good part…we are free to draw near to God, and when we do He draws near to us! In this atmosphere our hands are cleansed, our hearts purified and our double mindedness healed. You have got to love this!! Submission and God’s presence diminish the dots! Leading us into intimate relationship with God, here we no longer just know about God but we know God. This is the more that the deep within me calls out to.

At this present time, when I think of God’s presence in my life, I still see it as water surrounding and filling me, but now even in less than favorable circumstances I am weightless. His presence continually carries me and lifts my burdens. In this place of intimate relationship there is no worrying or fretting my prayers to God just complete trust in His will.

Weightless. Think about it.  It’s priceless.

“In Your presence is fullness of joy; At Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.” Psalm 16:11

Still thirsty for more? Check out my new book Thirsty Heart coming soon to a retailers shelf near you.

Leave a Reply

