A Secret, Divulged

A secret is about to be exposed, one that could change your life–making it much easier. A concept that divides any battle in half. It’s found in the fourth chapter of James.

Literally, James 4:7 are words to live by; a Bible promise, we as believers can access everyday, all day. The words read, “Therefore submit to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you” Two simple words; submit and resist, cause the devil and his plans to flee from us!

Submit: To give over or yield to the power or authority of another.
Basically we yield everything in our life to God and His authority.
Why? Because He is God and we can trust Him to do His best for us.
How? Just do it! Submitting can be hard, especially for those who want to run their own life. The truth is, at the cross as believers in Christ we surrender our will and make an exchange; His will for ours…it’s a biblical principle.

Resist: Withstand, strive against, or oppose, refrain or abstain from.
The grace and power needed to resist the devil comes as we humbly submit to God, count on this; He gives grace to the humble. (James 4:6)
Why? We have to do our part and take a stand against the devil as well as resist sin and temptation.
How? Be fully clothed in the armor of God and stand offensively, knowing the power that raised Christ from the dead is in us. (Ephesians 6:10-18, Ephesians 1:19-20, Philippians 4:13)

Flee: Take flight and move away swiftly.
Think about this…if the devil were to take fight from everything that is important to you, how would that change your life?
Why and how?  What I love about this concept is that the devil, a being created by God, is subject to God’s Word. He has to flee, he has no other choice. The Word says if we submit and resist–he flees, period, end of the story!

With the devil out-of-the-way, half our battle is fought. Now we can draw near to God. The next verse after submit, resist, flee, is James 4:8 “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners; and purify your hearts, you double-minded.” Here in the drawn near position, we rest in God, allowing Him to cleanse and purify us. This is where the rest of the battle is fought.

My first question to this concept would be, how? Sounds great but how do I apply this to my life?
Following is how I have learned to apply James 4:6-8 to my life.

Every morning I pray this scripture. Example: “God I submit my life to you. My mind-all my thoughts-taking every thought captive. I submit my will-everything I want and don’t want to do to you-let your will be done in my life. I submit my emotions-all my feelings, my heart-my wellspring-help me keep it pure, my spirit and body to you. I submit my husband, marriage, kids. I give you all that is important to me and to them. I resist the devil over all this. Devil, in the name of Jesus you have to flee! You are bound by the Word of God, so get out, I will have nothing to do with you! God, I draw near to you, thank you that as I do, you draw near to me. I press my family into you. Cleanse our hands and purify our hearts, help us to not be double minded.” Of course the prayer varies becoming very detailed and personal according to the need, this is just the gist of it.
Then throughout the day, anything that comes up I submit to God and resist the devil in it, with a prayer similar to the one above.

James 4:7 is an amazing weapon of warfare, one that the devil tries to keep secret! I challenge you to make it part of your daily life, you will not be disappointed!

4 thoughts on “A Secret, Divulged

  1. So true! And it’s an every day thing… It’s amazing what happens when we truly submit. God amazes me every time!

Leave a Reply

