Yes Lord

Today’s blog the third of three from Luke 1, is yet again—very short—but sweet!

Gabriel’s eloquent words unfold before Mary, painting for her a picture of God’s beautifully detailed, master plan. A designed arrangement that embraced her world. Plans foretold long before she ever took her first breath. Plans that would rearrange her life forever.

How did Mary respond?

How would you respond?

Her response causes my heart to marvel—yearning for the same simple trust and pure faith in God.

Savor the words of a selfless girl…“Behold the maidservant of the Lord! Let it be to me according to your word.”

Mary responded with a sincere, yes Lord. Let your will be done in me as You desire. No reasoning just, yes Lord.

This New Year, may we carry the humble posture of Mary the Mother of our Savior. May the same sweet words be on our heart as well as our lips…yes Lord…”Let it be to me according to your word.”

Be blessed with a heart warming Christmas! Enjoy family, friends, food and faith!

Luke 1:26-38 “Now in the sixth month the angel Gabriel was sent by God to a city of Galilee named Nazareth, to a virgin betrothed to a man whose name was Joseph, of the house of David. The virgin’s name was Mary. And having come in, the angel said to her, “Rejoice, highly favored one, the Lord is with you; blessed are you among women! ”But when she saw him she was troubled at his saying, and considered what manner of greeting this was. Then the angel said to her, “Do not be afraid, Mary, for you have found favor with God. And behold, you will conceive in your womb and bring forth a Son, and shall call His name JESUS. He will be great, and will be called the Son of the Highest; and the Lord God will give Him the throne of His father David. And He will reign over the house of Jacob forever, and of His kingdom there will be no end.” Then Mary said to the angel, “How can this be, since I do not know a man?” And the angel answered and said to her, “The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Highest will overshadow you; therefore, also, that Holy One who is to be born will be called the Son of God. Now indeed, Elizabeth your relative has also conceived a son in her old age; and this is now the sixth month for her who was called barren. For with God nothing will be impossible.”
Then Mary said, “Behold the maidservant of the Lord! Let it be to me according to your word.”

2 thoughts on “Yes Lord

  1. So many times I have reasoned, tarried, wondered and delayed instead of simply saying Yes Lord.
    I want to be a yes-man for God, when He calls me, that I will simply say Yes Lord, here I am.
    Instead of excusing myself by pointing to something imprtant in my life that I ahve to do first, see the life ahead as putting Him and His will whollly and totally first.
    Do any of us, truely consistantly live like that?
    I know that He is the God of second (and mnay more) chances, but I would love to move into a life of simply not needing them.
    Years ago, a guy prayed for me and told me that my issue us that I don;t trust Jesus enough…my wife was hurt by this on my behalf although I was quietl;y in agreement and without beating myself up, I can see a trail iof evidence to support this.
    I have faith, but like most of us, always need more!
    I met a young lady radically transformed from a life of selling cocain and street fighting to amazing service reaching out to rough-sleeping addicts and I am challenged…
    I know that is not my calling but I want to be that responsive.
    Yes Lord, Here I am, Send me.
    HAve a great Christmas and a brilliant 2012!

Leave a Reply

