Wellspring

Our heart is the wellspring and source of our life, it’s the core and base of a person, a habitat of true worship to guard and set aside for God. Proverbs 4:23 says “Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.”

Wellspring: Defined as the head or source of a spring, stream, river; fountainhead; a source or supply of anything, especially when considered inexhaustible.

If the wellspring of a stream becomes muddy, subsequently the whole stream will grow to be polluted. We have to guard our wellspring/heart from becoming muddied by sin and its effects, so that our whole life is not tainted.

Our heart is a secret treasury to be saturated with tender thoughts of our loving God. It is our innermost being where He can dwell. Ephesians 3:16-17 in the Amplified version beautifully lays out the truth for us—our heart is to be God’s home. “May Christ through your faith [actually] dwell (settle down, abide, make His permanent home) in your hearts”

In regard to the makeup of our being: heart, soul, spirit, and body; the heart has always baffled me. It seemed emotions came from my heart, because in situations where my heart had been broken, I felt sad or hurt. Jeremiah 17:9 states, “The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked; who can know it?”  This scripture gives the impression the heart is evil.

In my inquiries to learn about the heart, I have discovered it is primarily a soul issue. The heart will be led by either the soul or the Spirit. The fruit of a soul that is not submitted can be seen in our heart and thus the scripture in Jeremiah applies. A self-willed, prideful, rebellious, hard heart reflects a soul that is not submitted.

A submitted soul will lead a redeemed heart into a relationship with the Holy Spirit where He can live in us.  A heart that is filled with the Spirit of God, is tender, obedient, accepting and aware of God and His ways.

Since our feelings come from our emotions, the soul determines how offenses of the heart are handled. A soul drenched in self-will, most likely will lead the heart to become angry and hard when broken or offended. While with a submitted heart and soul where Christ is already at home; heart-break causes an immediate reliance and turning to God.

I’ve sought the Lord on the dichotomy of how to keep a tender heart in the midst of heartbreak and rejection. I asked Him how I could avoid pain’s poison from penetrating and polluting my heart. The answer lay in trusting God to heal my broken heart and to fill in the wounds of rejection with His love. Not just His love for me, but love and forgiveness for the person causing the offense as well.

In Ezekiel 36, God speaks of us exchanging our hard heart of solid rock for a soft, delicate, pliable heart of flesh. This alone indicates that our heart is to be kept soft and vulnerable to Him as well as those He puts in our lives.

Think of the heart as a wineskin that has to be kept oiled and supple so as not to crack when the filling comes—whether good or bad.

I once asked God to break my heart for the things that broke His. Instead of pointing me to hungry kids in Africa or the homeless, He turned my heart in the direction of a person who had hurt and rejected me. Those who cause me pain, such as the person He pointed out, make me want to run in the other direction and shut the door behind me. But, God wanted me to love and help restore this person to Him.

My heart sank within me, for the truth was—the love required for this purpose could not be found in me. This is where putting our heart in God’s hands becomes our only reality. Psalm 119:32 promises, if we run the course of His commandments, He will enlarge our heart. Loving those who hurt and betray us is accomplished through a miracle of God Himself; ever so faithfully enlarging and working in our frail human heart.

“I will praise You, O LORD, with my whole heart; I will tell of all Your marvelous works.”
Psalm 9:1

Our wellspring is to be kept pure—a place where God Himself can live. Be encouraged to guard your heart, making it a home for the love of your life!

 

 

 


5 thoughts on “Wellspring

  1. so true- its the only way we can be of “good cheer” when circumstances disappoint /wound. He alone is perfect love! only He can do it!

  2. These words are so refreshing… When we run the course of HIs commandments, He will enlarge our hearts, keeping our hearts softened {and pliable}… to be able to love those who hurt and betray us….truly this is a miracle of God!
    Thank you, Regina, for reminding us of this promise from Psalms. 119:32
    As well as from Proverbs 4:23 “Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.”
    Am enjoying all of the words that flow from ‘the heart of God’ through your heart and pen…

Leave a Reply

