Be Prepared for the Accuser’s Voice

When accusations come our way, and guaranteed they will come. We have to be prepared.

Not too long ago I had a situation where I was caught off guard.

The accuser’s voice came from someone I trusted. Unfortunately it took me a couple of days to realize exactly what was happening.

The discouraging thing about the whole situation was that I had heard these words before—they were the lies I believed about myself before I learned to distinguish God’s voice from the accuser’s voice.

I have to admit I should not have listened, let alone allow the words to penetrate my heart. After I removed the fiery dart of accusation, it became clear to me what actually transpired

Because the words were painfully spoken by someone I cared about, I immediately agreed with them and let them marinate inside my head. Saying to myself “It’s true, I haven’t changed at all.”

What I should have done was automatically aligned the words to the Word of God. This is how we should always handle these situations.

When I finally asked God about it, He did not agree with me or the devil—big surprise right? He told me that my first clue to the authenticity of the words should have been how painful they were. Even in correction God’s words may be direct, hard to swallow and full of conviction but His words offer life and a hand to change. The words of the accuser are poisonous and debilitating, offering no hope, just condemnation, shame and heaviness—never to be agreed with.

As elementary as this may sound, the revelation was very freeing. Sometimes because of relationship or someone’s position, we can take in and believe what they say about us. Lesson learned; never agree with familiar words of the enemy, no matter who speaks them.

The first thing we should always do is take everything to God and let Him judge and weigh it for us

The voice of the accuser approaches us in many different forms. Sometimes it’s as blatant as the situation I just described, most of the time it’s a sneaky whisper, disguised by Satan, to sound as an original thought from God, or our own heart and mind. His intentions are to implant lies about God, our self and everyone else.

I recently talked to someone who gave me a long list of lies they believed about them self. I was shocked and mad that Satan had so stealthily implanted these thoughts into my friends mind—worse my friend believed every word! But this is how Satan works, deviously planting one big lie mixed with a little truth and WHAM! We buy it.

I understand this is not fresh information, but somehow the devil does find a way to blindside us. This is why being prepared is not an option! I know that if my friend continued believing those lies about herself, she would have begun to believe lies about God. The cunning devil would have been able to convince her that God wasn’t big enough to help her.

Accusations in all forms are lethal. It is Satan’s job to steal, kill and destroy. He accuses God constantly. The devil’s ultimate plan is to steal our faith in God.

Be watchful and ready!

Following are a few ways to be prepared:

  • The mind has to be renewed by the Spirit of God daily

Ephesians 4:17 “You should no longer walk as the rest of the Gentiles walk, in the futility of their mind” Verses 22-23, “Put off, concerning your former conduct, the old man which grows corrupt according to the deceitful lusts, and be renewed in the spirit of your mind.”

Romans 12:2 “And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.”

  • Take every thought captive and make it obedient to Christ

2 Corinthians 10:5 “Casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ.”

  • Wash your mind with the Word of God

Ephesians 5:25-26 “Christ also loved the church and gave Himself for her, that He might sanctify and cleanse her with the washing of water by the word.”

  • Take up the shield of faith

Ephesians 6:16 “Above all, taking the shield of faith with which you will be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked one.”

Please be encouraged to prepare your mind for the accusations of the enemy! The victory is already yours—grab it!

Ephesians 6:13-18, “Be prepared. You’re up against far more than you can handle on your own. Take all the help you can get, every weapon God has issued, so that when it’s all over but the shouting you’ll still be on your feet. Truth, righteousness, peace, faith, and salvation are more than words. Learn how to apply them. You’ll need them throughout your life. God’s Word is an indispensable weapon. In the same way, prayer is essential in this ongoing warfare. Pray hard and long. Pray for your brothers and sisters. Keep your eyes open. Keep each others spirits up so that no one falls behind or drops out.”

One thought on “Be Prepared for the Accuser’s Voice

Leave a Reply

