Obnoxious People

Have you ever been in a situation where your surrounded by obnoxious people?

This past weekend I found myself in that exact predicament. My husband and I, along with our son and a family friend went camping. Our camp neighbors were rude and showed no consideration for camping neighbor etiquette.

I do not want to list all their behavior, but to help you get the picture I’ll list just a few. Keep in mind, these were kind friendly people.

They had a dog not on a leash, a nice dog that played fetch in the river and walked through our campsite, dripping wet, each time he got out of the river, by the way they always threw the ball in the river right in front of our campsite. They played a noisy ring toss game, talking, drinking and laughing as they did, well past midnight. Also, on their way to the bathroom they walked right through our campsite.

You get the picture right? OK, so it was bothersome and maybe if we would have talked to them about it, it would have helped. Not sure. But when I woke up on the second morning to their loud talking, God spoke to me about being offended by their conduct. Yes it was wrong, but how would He handle it and how should I handle it?

The bottom line of what God was saying to me was, “What’s more important your cozy vacation or people?” This was obviously how they operated and it would have been offensive to them for us to point out their faults. I’m sure it would have put ought between us.

And what if God wanted to use us to tell them about Him? Could we of been successful after confronting them about their rude behavior? Or would we of come off as religious Bible thumpers?

The scripture the Lord took me to was Jeremiah 12:5

If you have run with the footmen, and they have wearied you, then how can you contend with horses?
And if in the land of peace, in which you trusted, they wearied you, then how will you do in the flood plain of the Jordan?

This verse is familiar; (I’ve used it in a blog before titled Small Stuff-Big Distractions) God uses it to remind me not to sweat the small things in life.

And basically what God calls the small things are not exactly what I would call the small things! He keeps reminding me that He’s interested in people’s salvation, not my comfort.

Again the last line of the verse says “And if in the land of peace, in which you trusted, they wearied you, then how will you do in the floodplain of the Jordan?” Essentially He’s saying, if you’re having a hard time getting along in times of peace, then how will you act in times of war?

Was their rudeness irritating? Yes, but I slept twenty-five feet away from their tents, in peace knowing that they were not going to kill us.

What I’m trying to convey is we as Christians need to pivot our mind-set and realize it’s not about us. And every situation can be an opportunity to share Christ. Who knows maybe if I had not been so irritated by my camping neighbors maybe I could of struck up a conversation with them that lead to sharing about God?

Be encouraged to not sweat the small stuff, there are so many more important issues in life!

So be careful how you live. Don’t live like fools, but like those who are wise. Make the most of every opportunity in these evil days. Don’t act thoughtlessly, but understand what the Lord wants you to do. Ephesians 5:15-17

6 thoughts on “Obnoxious People

  1. Excellent perspective…why are we always so concerned with ourselves and our comfort? When it comes to situations like this we seem to revert back to “our rights” and forget the big picture.

Leave a Reply

